Whilst on the inclusions pathways I have learnt a lot about ‘’Quality First Teaching’’, best practice and what inclusive classrooms look like but most of all I have learnt about myself as a teacher and over the past month I have had the chance to really develop my philosophy of education.

I have found that no matter how many strategies or techniques you implement into your classroom in order to have an inclusive classroom it won’t make a difference if you haven't strategically planned your lessons.  In order to have an inclusive classroom ‘’Quality First Teaching’’ is key. This means building relationships with your class and knowing their individual needs, acting on their strengths and catering for their weaknesses. To ensure you have an inclusive classroom differentiation is vital as this provides each child with the opportunity to achieve, therefore it is important to learn about and accept the differences of every child. “As a teacher, the first thing you should do is to acknowledge the theory of natural variation. When you enter your classroom you should accept that in all respects each pupil is different from the next.” Train, A. (2000) 


Whilst on placement I saw various inclusive practices in place but they weren't providing an inclusive classroom, instead they were excluding the child that need the most support by excessively using a TA, this can be damaging to a child’s education, particularly one with social issues as it allows them to become reliant upon that TA. “Lesson 4: The use of additional support for individuals needs to be carefully planned and those involved require appropriate training…in the English context , teacher assistant support was used as an alternative to attention from teachers…students with most need should get more, not less time with teachers.” Ainscow, M. (2012) 


In the future I plan to avoid the use the TA as excessively as I have witnessed instead I would prefer the TA worked with a group including that child or oversaw that child while he works with his peers.  Working collaboratively in groups and teaching each other, when done properly this has been proven to consolidate information in children’s minds while also working on their social and communication skills, but this isn’t something that will come easily, it will need to be practiced so that the children can benefit from it.  “However, it is important to stress again the need for skill in orchestrating this type of classroom practice. Poorly managed cooperative group work usually involves considerable waste of time and, indeed, present many opportunities for increased disruption.” Ainscow,M (2012)


This past month has taught me a lot about me as a teacher and a lot about the type of teacher I want to be. I have realised that a lot of what happens within some classrooms is more for the benefit of the teacher and the effect on the children is overlooked, this may not be done on purpose and over time it may have accidently become the norm. Instead all decisions within the classroom should be made with the children in mind, from the lesson planning right down to the seating plan, catering to the needs of my class is something that its vital to the progression of my class.


When working with children particularly those with SEN it is important to remember that they want to please you and there is always a reason for their behaviour. As a teacher we can’t take it personally, we have to do what we can to make it easier for them. It might be something as simple as them not being able to access the work or it may be more complex such as issues at home, either way it is our duty to help the child through that ordeal instead of putting it down to bad behaviour and shouting at them. On placement I found that very small incidents can cause a big reaction to children with SEN, in particular the child I was observing with ADHD, and as a teacher you have to be prepared to deal with that “One child sitting in another child’s seat can  be a cause of major confrontation, often involving an inattentive child with ADHD. The displaced child, usually quiet and mostly compliant, may become extremely agitated when denied their own seat, resulting in uncharacteristically aggressive behaviour.” O’Regan, F. (2004) 


With all of this in mind I aim to become the type of teacher that is able to manage SEN children in an inclusive way. I aim to be the type of teacher that will ask appropriate people for help if needed and use my resources properly. I hope to be the type of teacher that tries different techniques to make it easier for the children in my class and with the tools I have gained on the inclusions pathway I am confident that I can do it.  



Leave a Reply.

    My views...

    This blog area will be used to display my views, thoughts and reflections on my journey to becoming a primary teacher...