As my placement draws to an end there is so much to reflect on and so much that I know I would like to develop before my next placement.

Skills that I would like to develop include my ability to assess children’s learning so that my feedback is more influential. I have realised the importance of being very detailed when assessing children’s learning. In beginning teaching, beginning learning in primary education Kathy Hall highlights the purposes of assessing learning which I plan to use to assist me when assessing the children’s learning on my next placement.

1. To plan the next topic or series of lessons;
2. To judge the effectiveness of teaching;
3. To group learners for teaching according to their attainment in a topic of subject;
4. To compare learners attainment with others in the class, other of the same age;
5. To monitor learners progress over the time;
6. To obtain a better understanding of learners difficulties, say, strengths and weaknesses as a reader; 
7. To provide evidence tat learners themselves can use to improve; 
8. To provide evidence of attainment for use as a basis of discussion with learners parents or carers;
9. To provide evidence of standards for use by the school, by the local authority, by the government;
10. To compare standards of attainment at the level of the school, local authorities and nation over time; 
11. To accredit learning by providing people with certificates that can be used in the next stage of education or by employers.


(Hall, 2007, Mc Graw Hill Education, 196-7)

I would like to find various ways to make sure everyone is actively taking part in my lessons, throughout my placement I have tried to do this in many ways such as having whiteboards on the carpet, having the children doing things while the introduction is taking place, have the children sort themselves into certain groups based on criteria such as shape properties. I have found that when children actively take part in the conversation/ decision making in the introduction of a lesson they understand it better when they return to their place to complete the activity.

“Once the children are ready to learn and we begin to present some new information to them, we must ensure that they are actively involved, not just passive recipients and writers like Fisher (2005) offer lots of lively ideas to encourage active learning… Research by Moyles et al (2003) suggests that truly interactive teaching means more than children being physically involved in waving cards in the air, for instance. They must also be cognitively involved, for instance in comparing, trying out ideas or making decisions.” (Merry,Rogers, Mc Graw Hill Education, 68)

Finally, I would like to further develop my teaching of SEN children and my pitching towards their ability. This is something that I have struggled with whilst on placement, I have thoroughly enjoyed working with SEN children and EAL children on a 1:1 basis this is why I have chosen to take on an inclusion pathway throughout my PGCE as I feel those skills will be developed so that I am giving the best to those children and I am able to help them to feel included in the learning.



Leave a Reply.

    My views...

    This blog area will be used to display my views, thoughts and reflections on my journey to becoming a primary teacher...